taoCMS™ Demo Site: Sports

Home » Sports »


Wolves named to All-State, All-Conference, football teams

Posted 11/25/14 (Tue)

By Neal A. Shipman
Farmer Editor

Watford City had nine players selected to the 2014 Class AA West Region All-Conference Football Team, while three players were named to the All State Second Team.
Named to the All-Conference Team was Beau Heiser, offensive and defensive lineman; Logan Fettig, offensive and defensive lineman; Dalton Wright, linebacker/running back; Jaryn Homiston, offensive and defensive lineman; and Keegan Thompson, running back.
Selected as Honorable Mention on the All-Conference team was Clay Jorgenson, defensive back; Brennan Leaming, defensive back/wide receiver; Daniel Marmon, linebacker; and Derrike Hayden, linebacker/tight end.
Heiser and Fettig were also named to the All-State Second Team as defensive linemen, while Thompson was chosen on the All-State Second Team as a running back.
According to Justin Johnsrud, Wolves’ head coach, Thompson rushed for 1,011 yards and had 12 touchdowns for Watford City this season, while Wright led the team in tackles and Leaming had nine receptions and three touchdowns.
During the Wolves’ Awards Banquet, Johnsrud and his coaching staff presented the following team awards.
Defensive MVP - Logan Fettig, Beau Heiser and Jaryn Homiston.
“Our three down linemen did an excellent job this season,” stated Johnsrud. “They were third, fourth and sixth, respectively in defensive points this season. They were double-teamed almost every play, which allowed our inside linebackers, Dalton Wright and Daniel Marmon, to be the top two defensive point-getters.”
Offensive MVP - Keegan Thompson.
Hustle Award - Derrike Hayden.