taoCMS™ Demo Site: Sports

Home » Sports »


Oiler girls on President’s Cup winning team

Posted 3/30/11 (Wed)

Four Watford City Oiler hockey players helped bring the President’s Cup to North Dakota for the first time in the 2011 Girls 19U President’s Cup Hockey Tournament, which was held in Rapid City on March 18 through 20.
The eight-team tournament was comprised of teams from North Dakota, South Dakota and Wyoming. North Dakota had three teams in the tournament. Those teams were Bismarck, Fargo and Bottineau.
Katie Skarda, Taylor and Tessa Dwyer and Raven Meinke of the Watford City Oilers participated with the Bottineau Avalanche team. Josh Brew of the Watford City Oilers helped coach along with coaches from Bottineau and MayPort.
The Bottineau Avalanche team was made up of team members from Watford City, Sidney, Langdon, MayPort, and Bottineau.
The Avalanche won the first game over Gillette, Wyo., 11-1, and in the second game, the Avalanche defeated an Oahe, S.D., team, 8-3. The Avalanche advanced to the championship game defeating an Aberdeen, S.D., team, 10-2.
In the title game against Bismarck, the Avalanche found themselves down 2-0 early in the second period, but two quick goals tied the game at 2-2 after two periods. The Avalanche went on to win the game by a score of 6-3 at the buzzer.
This is the first time a North Dakota team has won the President’s Cup.